The firearms legislation sets out your responsibilities as a firearms owner in relation to safe storage.

Different categories of licence require different levels of safe storage.

However, across all licences and permit categories, the legislation provides that any person who possesses a firearm must take all reasonable precautions to ensure that the firearm:

  • Is kept safe;
  • Is not lost or stolen; and
  • Does not come into the possession of a person who is not authorised to possess the firearm.

Undertake the Safe Storage Assessment Tool

Are you taking all reasonable precautions to ensure your firearms are not stolen?

Transportation and Ammunition

Firearms Level 1 and Level 2

Firearms Collector - Level 9

Firearms Dealer, Theatrical Armourer, Club Armourer - Level 7

Security Firm - Levels 3, 4, 5 & 6

Prohibited Firearms

Prohibited Weapons

Prohibited Weapons Dealer & Theatrical Armourer - Level 7

RSL and Museum - Level 8

Related Information