Bravery of 22 police officers recognised by Governor-General

Wednesday, 24 March 2021 08:16:00 AM

The NSW Police Force is congratulating 22 officers who have today been awarded Australian Bravery Decorations by the Governor-General.

Six police officers received the Bravery Medal and a further 16 received a Commendation for Brave Conduct after they displayed courageous efforts in the face of fires, dangerous boating and vehicle incidents, and flood waters.

The six officers to receive the Bravery Medal are:

• Sergeant Brad Lee Smith

• Sergeant Tony McGarel Hogg

• Sergeant Robert John Harper

• Senior Constable Matthew Scott Gray

• Senior Constable Nicholas Leach

• Senior Constable Trent Alexander Moffat

The 16 officers to receive a Commendation for Brave Conduct are:

• Chief Inspector Brenton James Charlton

• Sergeant Michael McClafferty

• Senior Constable Brent Whiten

• Senior Constable Arun Scott Trevitt

• Senior Constable Matthew Gary Bassford

• Senior Constable Benjamin White

• Senior Constable Brendan Michael O'Flynn

• Senior Constable Hansell Pereira

• Senior Constable Rhys Patrick Pershouse

• Senior Constable Matthew John Stewart

• Senior Constable Andrew Couch

• Senior Constable Todd Mackay

• Senior Constable Abraham Baidengan

• Constable Cameron Blake Meani

• Constable Caitlin Langerak

• Constable Matthew Blake Airey

NSW Police Commissioner Mick Fuller APM, said he was proud to see so many officers recognised for their selfless and courageous actions.

“The reality is that police face many dangerous scenarios every shift they work, and they will do everything they can to protect the lives of the people of NSW.

“In the face of extreme challenges, these officers displayed bravery and are worthy recipients of the awards and commendations today,” Commissioner Fuller said.

The Governor-General, His Excellency General the Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Retd) awarded a total of 111 Australians with bravery decorations, including the 24 NSW Police Force officers.

Sergeant Smith and Senior Constable Moffat receive the Bravery Medal after rescuing an elderly couple from floodwaters at Stroud on Tuesday 21 April 2015.

Sergeant Hogg, Senior Constable Gray, and Senior Constable Leach received the Bravery Medal following the rescue of race yacht crews in treacherous seas off the coast of Port Stephens on Wednesday 6 January 2016.

Sergeant Harper received a Bravery Medal for his actions during the rescue of six people from a burning building at Belmore on Sunday 15 January 2017. Senior Constables White, O’Flynn, Pereira, Pershouse, Stewart, Couch, Mackay and Baidengan, were commended for their brave conduct in responding to the Belmore building fire.

Chief Inspector Charlton is commended for brave conduct for his actions during a number of rescues from a burning home at Tempe on Wednesday 30 August 2017.

Senior Constables Trevitt and Bassford, and Constables Langerak and Airey are commended following a high-speed vehicle accident in central Sydney on Saturday 9 September 2017.

Sergeant McClafferty, Senior Constable Whiten and Constable Meani are commended for brave conduct for their actions during the rescue of people from a house fire at Chipping Norton on Sunday 15 July 2018

The Australian Bravery Decorations recognise courage and service to the community. Two Australian Bravery lists are announced every year. The independent Australian Bravery Decorations Council makes recommendations to the Governor-General regarding who should be recognised and at what level of award.

More information about the bravery awards is available at www.gg.gov.au.