1988 - 1989
During this period, Police Legacy was formed to care for the families and children of deceased members of the Force. The Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) was formed with a role in relation to the investigation of complaints against Police. Police were also heavily involved in the rescue operation following the Newcastle Earthquake and during the logging disputes in the south-east forests near Eden.

1990 - 1991
During this time, the Police Chapel and Walls of Remembrance were consecrated at Goulburn. In 1991, Don Wilson from the Royal Canadian Mounted Police was appointed to the re-created position of Inspector General alongside Commissioner Tony Lauer. The office lapsed at the end of his tenure. Leather jackets were also introduced as uniform items.

1994 - 1996
In this period, the Wood Royal Commission into the NSW Police Service occurred. This resulted in the introduction of the Police Integrity Commission (PIC) and the appointment of Peter Ryan from the United Kingdom as Commissioner of Police in 1996. The Royal Commission Reports were handed down in 1997.

Senior Constables Peter Addison and Robert Spears were shot and killed at Crescent Head. As a result of these deaths, the Glock self-loading pistol was adopted as the standard sidearm for Police. Bullet resistant vests were also generally made available to operational Police.

In 1997, a restructure of the NSW Police Service lead to 80 Local Area Commands as the focal point of policing within 11 geographic regions, with appropriate Specialist and Corporate commands.

Also during this year, the Memorial Rose Garden in memory of all NSW Police personnel was dedicated at the Police College in Goulburn.

1998 - 1999
In 1998, Detective Senior Constable Allan Sparkes became the first Police Officer to be awarded the highest Australian honour for civilian bravery - the Cross of Valour - for a rescue at Coffs Harbour.

2000 - 2003
The NSW Police Force was highly praised for the security arrangements for the 2000 Sydney Olympic Games.

In 2001, Assistant Commissioner Christine Nixon was appointed the Chief Commissioner of the Victoria Police - becoming the first female Commissioner in Australia. She had joined the NSW Police in 1972 and is the daughter of former Assistant Commissioner Ross Nixon.

In 2002, Ken Moroney was appointed Commissioner of Police. Two of his sons have followed him into policing. The NSW Police Service was renamed the NSW Police Force and referred to as "the Force."

Disaster Victim Identification (DVI) specialists from NSW were deployed to Indonesia in the wake of the 2002 Bali Bombing as part of the overall Australian police response.

In 2003, Police Headquarters relocated to Charles Street, Parramatta.

2004 - 2005
The Redfern Riot (2004) and Macquarie Fields and Cronulla Riots (2005) focused attention on public order policing and multicultural issues in NSW.

DVI specialists from NSW were deployed to Thailand as part of the Australian response to the Indian Ocean Tsunami (2004 - 2005).

On 1 September 2007, Commissioner Andrew Scipione is sworn in as Commissioner of Police.

The Community Awareness of Policing Program (CAPP), a first for law enforcement agencies in Australia, was introduced in NSW. Developed by the NSW Police Force Customer Service Program, CAPP provides leaders of our communities with a unique insight into policing in NSW.

In 2011, the NSW Police Force comprised of 19,518 personnel - consisting of 15,617 police and 3,901 civilian staff servicing a population of 7.25 million.

Senior Constable Karen Lowden is awarded the International Association of Women Police (IAWP) Medal of Valor Award for her role in assisting Madeline Pulver who had been fitted with an ‘explosive collar’.

Juliana Nkrumah AM awarded membership of the Order of Australia for significant service to the community, particularly the welfare of women and refugees.

NSW Police Force comprises 22,045 employees. Policewomen represent 26.9% of sworn personnel.  Women make up 35% of the Force. 13 policewomen are Superintendents & 2 are SES.

NSW Police Force celebrates 100 years of Women in Policing and 50 years since women were officially ‘sworn in’ as Constables and given the full powers of a police officer.

On 30 March 2017, Commissioner Michael Fuller APM is sworn in as Commissioner of Police.

On 1 February 2022, Commissioner Karen Webb APM is sworn in as Commissioner of Police.