

Mike Baird MP

Premier of NSW Minister for Infrastructure Minister for Western Sydney

MEDIA RELEASE

Tuesday 6 May 2014

NSW GOVERNMENT APPOINTMENTS

NSW Premier Mike Baird today announced the appointment of Stuart Ayres as Minister for Police and Emergency Services and the promotion of Matthew Mason-Cox to the NSW Cabinet team.

"Stuart Ayres has shown a huge amount of passion and dedication as Fair Trading Minister, Minister Assisting the Premier on Western Sydney, and Member for Penrith," said Mr Baird

"He thoroughly deserves the challenge of the key Police and Emergency Services portfolio, and I know that he will continue to work hard to improve frontline delivery across this state, while delivering in his role as Minister for Sport and Recreation."

Mr Baird said he was delighted to promote Matthew Mason-Cox into Cabinet.

"Matthew has been a hardworking Treasury Parliamentary Secretary over the past three years, and has the skills to excel in his new role to cut the red tape burden on small business and help protect consumers." said Mr Baird.

Mr Baird said Andrew Constance will take on additional responsibility with the portfolio of Industrial Relations and Rob Stokes will take on Minister for the Central Coast, while Duncan Gay will take on the role of Government Leader of the NSW Legislative Council.

"Duncan's promotion to leader of the Upper House reflects the extraordinary high regard in which he is held by his Parliamentary colleagues," said Mr Baird.

Mr Baird also announced the appointment of five new Parliamentary Secretaries to support the new NSW Liberals & Nationals Cabinet.

"Each new member of this team has shown drive and dedication over the past three years," Mr Baird said.

"This promotion is an acknowledgement of that work and will provide them with the opportunity use their energy and skills to make a contribution to the entire State."

The new Parliamentary Secretaries are:

• Baulkham Hills MP David Elliott, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Youth, Homelessness and the Centenary of ANZAC

- Port Macquarie MP Leslie Williams, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Renewable Energy
- Monaro MP John Barilaro, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business and Regional Development
- Hornsby MP Matt Kean, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Communities.
- The Hon. Catherine Cusack, MLC, who becomes Parliamentary Secretary for Tertiary Education and Skills.

Other changes in the Parliamentary Secretaries team include the appointment of Mark Speakman to the role of Parliamentary Secretary for Treasury.

"The NSW Liberals & Nationals Government is focussed on delivering results for the people of NSW. I am confident that this team will continue to deliver improved infrastructure and better services for our community," Mr Baird said.

MEDIA: Rachael Storey – 0467 741 310